Color Matching Relay

 Using the foam sheets you buy at craft stores (for durability), I cut out circles in two different colors (blue and red).  Our shape of the week was the circle this week, so I am reinforcing the circle in all activities possible.I mixed the circles together and placed them at one end of the room.  At the other end of the room I placed a piece of blue foam and a piece of red foam next to each other.  I told J that he had to pick just one circle, run to the other side of the room as fast as possible and match it to the correct color foam.  He repeated this until he had no more circles left.  He loved it.  Of course I was cheering him on the whole time. 

The activity was too easy for him.  Honestly this was the first time I tested him with color matching  so I made the activity simple, not wanting him frustrated.  I underestimated J and could’ve added another color easily, probably more.  Keeping him engaged is a constant learning process… since he is always learning! 

Age attempted: 20 months. 

Try Again?  Yes, but increase the difficulty by matching more colors or matching colors and shapes.

Leave a Reply

