Color Wheel for toddlers

I’ve seen this activity on tons of blogs since I first started looking and finally thought J was old enough to manage it.  The first time I brought it out he was excited but soon just wanted to point out where each clothespin belonged and have me do the physical labor.  Pinching the clothespin was difficult for him.  I felt ridiculous that I couldn’t figure out a good way to teach him to use the clothespin.  A week later we tried again.  We practiced opening and closing the clothespins together and I realized he could manage them on his own if he used both hands.  So for now I hold the color wheel for him while he squeezes the clothespin open.  Hopefully he will soon develop the hand muscles needed to have more control.  Since he knows his colors, the fine motor skills is really the purpose of this activity. 

(I don’t have a pic of J in action because I don’t have a free hand to snap the photo)

Age attempted: 24 months

4 responses to “Color Wheel for toddlers

  1. Pingback: Toddler Busy-Bags. « TheBowBlog

  2. Pingback: Busy Bags | Rocking Rascals

  3. Pingback: Color and Number Wheels « Living in Pinteresting Times

  4. What a great activity, I would have loved to have this when I was a preschool tea./provider.

Leave a Reply

