Our Most Used Supplies

I was hoping to post this before Christmas as a helpful guide for shopping, but obviously that didn’t happen.  So instead I’ll present these as great supplies that can help you make it through the winter.   These are the activity supplies that get the most use in our home.  I think they would be worth the money in any toddler home. 

  • Play-doh (cookie cutters are a nice addition, but not necessary)
  • Sidewalk Chalk
  • Clear Contact Paper
  • Pipe Cleaners
  • Pompom Balls
  • Dot Markers
  • Package of colorful foam paper
  • Cardstock
  • Painter’s Tape
  • Food Coloring

The Usual Suspects (There’s a reason these are considered common craft supplies!)

  • Crayons
  • Stickers
  • Glue/Glue Sticks
  • Construction Paper
  • Markers
  • Paintbrushes
  •  

Around the House

  • Empty containers with lids
  • Cotton balls
  • Q-tips
  • TP and Papertowel rolls
  • Magnets (save the ones you get in the mail)
  • Ice
  • Measuring spoons/cups
  • Cardboard (from old boxes)

Really these items alone would allow you to create almost anything.  Each item in the list will also last you a long time.  In most cases, we are still using the packages I bought when J was around 14 months (with the only exception being stickers).  I basically roamed the craft aisles one day and fortunately came out with almost all winners.  I’m not normally that successful with my shopping!  The one thing I bought and still haven’t used much is the colorful felt.  I imagine some moms would use this up in no time, but as of now I’m still working on how to put it to good use.  I’m open to suggestions on that one!

Leave a Reply

