Outside Snow Spraying

Well, we got over 2 feet of snow yesterday so I planned some more snow activities to entertain J with.  After the snowstorm blew over, I bundled him up to do some painting outside.  I read about this idea online.  I brought along a spray bottle filled with water and a few drops of food coloring (just one in our case, but of course the more colors the better!).  I first showed him how spraying the water on the snow turned it orange.  It didn’t go as well as I had hoped.  He couldn’t handle the spray bottle on his own so I ended up doing all the spraying.  He watched and told me what to “paint” in the snow.  I should have taught him how to use the spray bottle inside where it was warm and he had less distractions. 

Another problem was the water kept freezing in the spray mechanism, clogging the spray bottle.  It was really cold!  It was fine as long as I was continually spraying, but if I stopped for any length of time it would freeze up and stop working. Shaking it around, getting some fresh water up in the spray mechanism was all that was needed to unblock it, but it was frustrating. 

Anyway, I can see how an older toddler or preschooler would like this, but J was a bit too young.  I should’ve just let him paint with paint brushes.  Afterall he had a 4 foot wall of canvas after the driveway was shoveled!

Age?  21 months, but it would work better when he’s older and can work the spray bottle himself

Try again?  Yes,but probably not until next winter at least (he’ll be 2.5); it’s easy to prepare and no clean up necessary

Leave a Reply

