Grow Something!

This is something we did to celebrate J’s birthday last year.  He got to pick out some flowers at the store and then had some fun digging holes in the dirt, planting, filling, watering, getting dirty,… 

He planted flowers both in pots and in our front flower bed.  The potted plants didn’t do so well (I do NOT have a green thumb and had no clue what I was doing, apparently we planted way to many in the tiny pots!).  The flowers he planted in the garden did great!  All season long he could point out the flowers that he planted.  We will definitely do this again this year. 

Let your little ones help you this year as you refill your flower beds!

Age attempted: 24 months

2 responses to “Grow Something!

  1. Fun! I bet my 3 year old would love doing this. (Maybe I should inspire my husband to make this a mother’s day tradition.)

  2. Last year Henry and I planted some pots of flowers too – and I can’t wait to do it again this year and have him be more in charge of taking care of them. That’s awesome that he kept tabs on them all season 🙂

    I would love it if you linked this up to our new “It’s Playtime” party today.

    Jamie @ hands on : as we grow

Leave a Reply

