Counting Beads

I’m always trying to think of different uses of the same old toys.  This set of lacing beads from Melissa and Doug has found many uses, all of which have been winners for J.  This week I’ll highlight some of the ways we’ve used these beads. 

J set the number beads in the correct order and then created a “graph” of sorts by lining up the corresponding number of cars beside each bead.  In hindsight, I should have set out cars that were all similar lengths.  There was no planning involved in this activity though.  I just needed something to hold his attention long enough for me to feed his brother.  It worked 🙂

3 responses to “Counting Beads

  1. AWESOME! The teacher in me loves this. Like how the rug helped in keeping the lines straight.

  2. Wow! i love this! What great real life graphing! Now I’ve got to go around my house and find new uses for old toys!

Leave a Reply

