Button Snakes

Back when I was pregnant, I put together a basket of go-to activities that I could quickly pull from to keep J focused when I was busy with his little brother.  When I saw the button snake here, I knew I wanted to include it.

It was so easy to make, taking maybe 5 minutes, even with my sad skills using a needle and thread.

You need: colorful felt, scissors, ribbon, a button, needle and thread

What you do: 

  1. Cut the felt into squares (or fun shapes)
  2. Cut a small slit into each square (to fit your button)
  3. Sew one felt square near the end of your ribbon
  4. Sew a button onto the other end of your ribbon
  5. Your done!

    This was great practice for J.  He had really never tried button until this.  I made a beginner level button snake (using an extra large button) but was surprised at how quickly he caught on.

I recently made another button snake with a smaller button to increase the difficulty.  This time I cut the felt pieces into different shapes so that the pieces could also be used to sort or create various patterns as he builds the snake.

We’ve also used this activity in our airplane travel and it works great, lightweight and keeps him occupied.

8 responses to “Button Snakes

  1. Pingback: Saturday Links – Tips for Broadening Play and Button Snakes | Unified Parenting Theory

  2. Thanks for the great idea. I made one today for my son and initially he was frustrated and didn’t like it but then he started getting them on and he was thrilled with himself. Easy peasy. Tomorrow I am going to make some pattern cards and have him put them on in patterns. Thanks!

  3. Hi.I just saw the button snake toy that u made for your son and it looks interesting. However, my daughter has now turn two and im just wondering if it may be suitable for her? Tks =)

    • 2 years old was a little young for J to use the button snake for its intended purpose. He didn’t have the hand dexterity to work a button at that age. He did like stringing beads or sponges at that age.

      The button snake can be made easier by cutting larger holes and using large buttons. Smaller buttons and holes make the activity more difficult.

  4. Pingback: Busy Bag Exchange | Living Out Loud

  5. Hi! I was wondering if I could have permission to publish your button snake idea and photo in a teaching document for children with disabilities. We are a group of teachers from 3 special schools in Australia and are putting together a document of Literacy Ideas. This would fit into our fine motor skills section. We are not making any money from this document and it will be freely available on the internet. We would credit you for the idea and link directly to your blog from the picture.
    Your support would be greatly appreciated!
    Pamela 🙂

    • Pamela- I’m sorry that it took me so long to check comments. If you still need to use the picture of the button snake, I am fine with that. Thank you for asking first!

Leave a Reply

